Hungarian chicken!

16 Mar

paprikachickenLast month, I saw this recipe at No Recipes, a great food blog. Since then, I’ve had this idea of Hungarian chicken floating around in my head. I envisioned a creamy, fragrant, spicy sauce enrobing succulent chicken and tender vegetables. It was a tall order, but I decided to try my own version of it.

(This is also my version of a no-recipe recipe. I totally winged it on this one and didn’t write down proportions, so you’ll have to experiment, too.)

It came out amazingly well. I was quite proud of this dish and called a few people to wax poetic about the delicious dinner I had managed to prepare. You should try it! If you come up with a variation, please let me know.

HUNGARIAN CHICKEN
Serves 3-4

2 organic chicken breasts
7 oz greek yogurt [I used 2%]
1-2 c steamed, quartered Brussels sprouts
1 medium onion
1 clove minced garlic
1/4 – 1/2 c vegetable broth
1/4 + c smoked paprika
pinch sumac [optional]

In large pan, saute chicken breasts until 3/4 of the way done (still somewhat pink in the middle). Remove from pan. Add 2 tbsp olive oil and saute onions until soft, about 3 minutes. Add garlic and paprika and cook until very fragrant, 1-2 minutes.

While this is cooking, heat on low the broth. Once it is warm (but not hot), slowly add to greek yogurt and mix until combined.

Add Brussels sprouts to skillet and stir in sumac. Slice the chicken into stripe (you can cut them into bite size or longer stripes; whatever you prefer). Add chicken and saute for 1-2 minutes until done. Spoon yogurt mixture over skillet and stir to combine. Salt to taste and cook for 1-2 more minutes. If you want more sauce, continue to add broth.

I served mine over red quinoa. It would also be great over egg noddles, brown rice, or millet.

One Response to “Hungarian chicken!”

  1. Marc @ NoRecipes March 18, 2009 at 10:45 am #

    That sound delicious! I love seeing how my posts inspire new variants:-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

