Starting anew

January is a great month to take inventory of your life and your diet and see what needs change. Each year, I use the first few weeks of the month to do a cleanse: a diet that gives my body a break and creates a clean slate for the new year.

This year, I’ve decided to do my best to rid my body of toxicity and inflammation. While our bodies are equipped with detoxification mechanisms, our diets and the environment in which we live often overwhelm these devices. Everyone is exposed to toxins, whether it is from hidden food allergies, environmental toxins, or pesticides sprayed on our foods. All of these combined create a low level of inflammation in our bodies, which contributes to obesity, diabetes, and heart disease. Unfortunately, toxins thrive in fall cells, so the more fat you’re storing on your body, the more toxicity you’re also carrying around.

So, for the next two weeks, I’m going to eliminate all foods that create inflammation and instead focus on foods that are easy for my body to digest and that are anti-inflammatory. I’ve come up with a 14-day plan that involves 5 meals a day (I’m not one to starve myself!) and lots of fluids. I’m hoping that by the end, I will have more energy and will feel generally better.

Of course, I’ll update you on my progress. If you want to try a detox of your own, contact me and we can discuss. I’ve tried a few different cleanses, so I can recommend one that would be good for your body type.

In the meantime — happy new year. May you have abundant health and happiness.

Leave a Reply

