Quinoa Salad with Corn and Basil

When I first discovered quinoa, I hated it. I couldn’t imagine why so many people loved it. I later realized I was cooking it incorrectly–you have to rinse it VERY well to get rid of a thin film that can have a bitter taste. Now I’m a huge fan.

I’m going to a picnic tomorrow evening and decided this week’s new recipe would be a quinoa salad to share with everyone. I’m a huge fan of the results (and will report back later what others said). It’s perfect for later in the summer, when corn is at peak season.

Quinoa Salad with Corn and Basil

6 servings

  • 1 1/2 cups uncooked quinoa, rinsed well
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 cups fresh (about 4 ears) or frozen corn [I used three ears]
  • 1 cup tightly packed basil leaves, finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup diced jarred roasted red peppers
  • 1/2 cup diced red onion
  • 2 Tbs. olive oil
  • 3 to 5 Tbs. fresh lemon juice (1 to 2 lemons) [I used 5 tablespoons]
  • [I added about 1/3 lb French feta]
  1. In medium saucepan, combine quinoa, salt and 3 cups water. Bring to a boil over high heat. Cover, reduce heat to low and simmer 12 minutes.
  2. Add corn, cover and cook until quinoa is tender but still a little crunchy, about 3 minutes.
  3. Drain quinoa mixture and transfer to large serving bowl. Toss well with fork, fluffing quinoa. Set aside to cool slightly.
  4. Add basil, peppers and onion. Stir in oil and enough lemon juice to give salad a distinct lemony edge. [I added crumbled feta here.] Adjust seasonings to taste and serve.

(From Vegetarian Times)

Update: This was a huge hit. Even those who were initially reluctant to try a new grain were big fans. This is the perfect summer recipe–filling but very light and refreshing at the same time.

Leave a Reply

