Blueberry Corn Muffins

About three months ago, I determined I was sensitive to gluten. One day I realized that it’s probably not normal to always feel a little tired and a little congested–our bodies aren’t built like that. I suspected it was either wheat or gluten, so I removed both from my diet for two weeks. I felt great: more energy, more mental clarity, less congestion. Since then, I’ve been leading a (mostly; I’ve had some slip ups) gluten-free lifestyle.

This recipe is adapted from Ania Catalano’s book, Baking With Agave Nectar. It’s adapted because I bought chickpea flour and then, after making them, realized it actually called for quinoa flour. I had never actually cooked with chickpea flour, but figured the gritty texture would work well with the cornmeal–corn muffins aren’t meant to have a fine, fluffy texture, so it was a safe bet.

The texture came out really well. They burned a bit on the top, so I’d reduce the cooking time next time. I’ll also try it again and add a bit more agave nectar (recipe adjusted accordingly below).

Blueberry Corn Muffins

1 c cornmeal
1 c quinoa flour [I used chickpea flour]
3 tsp baking powder
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp sea salt
1 large egg, beaten
1/3 – 1/2 c agave nectar, depending on how sweet you’d like them
1/4 c light agave nectar
1/4 c olive oil
1 tsp vanilla extract
7 oz 2% greek yogurt + 1 oz water
Freshly grated zest of one lemon
1 1/2 c fresh blueberries

Preheat oven to 350. Line 12 muffin cups with paper liners.

In a bowl, mix together the dry ingredients. In a separate bowl, mix together the egg, agave, olive oil, vanilla, yogurt, water, and lemon zest. Pour the egg mixture into the dry ingredients and stir into incorporated. Gently stir in the blueberries. Spoon the batter into the prepared muffin cups and bake for 20-25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean.

Leave a Reply

