Corn risotto

I’m a huge fan of fresh corn in the summer–I end up eating it at least once a week through its peak season. Though I love simple corn on the cob, this week I decided to try something new.

My boyfriend and I had the idea of making corn the way you make risotto–cutting it off the cob raw and then adding broth until the liquid is absorbed and the corn is cooked. I tried this recipe for my mother and grandparents this weekend. It was a hit. We served it with slice tomatoes, steamed asparagus, and green beans–the perfect summer meal. A glass of French rose wine completed the meal.

Corn risotto
6 cobs of corn
approx. 2 cups vegetable or chicken broth [I used homemade chicken broth]
1/2 red onion, chopped
1 tsp butter (optional)
1/4 c fresh parsley, chopped
olive oil

Cut corn off of cobs. Over medium heat, saute onions with olive oil until soft; about 5-8 minutes. Add corn and saute in oil and onions for 5 minutes. Add 1/2 c broth and butter, if desired. Stir occaisonally. When liquid is absorbed, add another 1/2 cup. Repeat until all liquid is absorbed and corn is cooked to the consistency you desire. Turn off heat, add parsley. Stir and add salt and pepper to taste.

Update:  I made a delicious variation of this using garlic (sauteed with the corn), no onion, and a pinch of saffron towards the end.  So good!

One thought on “Corn risotto

Leave a Reply

