Tandoori Chicken

I’m a big fan of Mark Bittman’s New York Times blog, but I’ve never tried his recipes.  This week, I decided to make his version of tandoori chicken.

It says it serves four, but I think it would serve a lot more.  the chicken was flavorful and tender–but there was one problem. The sauce curdled.  I had followed the instructions exactly, so I was confused.  My boyfriend later explained to me that adding the lime juice to the sauce before cooking had caused it.  So–next time, I will make it without the lime juice.  In the meantime, I will make more sauce to serve with the chicken by combining the yogurt and spices and spooning it on it at room temperature.  I served it with brown rice — it was delish!

Note: I broiled the chicken.  I didn’t have the rack high enough, so it took a bit longer than in the instructions. I used a meat thermometer to ensure the chicken was at 135 degrees before pulling it out.

Fast Tandoori Chicken

Yield 4 servings

Time 20 minutes, plus 5 to 60 minutes

Mark Bittman

  • 2 cups yogurt
  • 2 teaspoons minced ginger
  • 2 teaspoons minced garlic
  • 2 teaspoons paprika
  • 2 teaspoons ground coriander
  • Juice of a lime
  • Salt and fresh black pepper
  • 1 1/2 pounds chicken breasts
  • Minced cilantro for garnish
Method

[I chose to broil the chicken]

  • 1. Preheat broiler or grill. Combine yogurt, ginger, garlic, paprika, coriander, half the lime juice and salt and pepper to taste in a large bowl. If chicken breasts are whole, cut them in half. Dredge chicken in yogurt mixture and marinate 5 to 60 minutes, as time allows.
  • 2. If you’re broiling, line a baking sheet with aluminum foil for easier cleanup. Put chicken breasts on pan, underside facing up; reserve marinade that does not cling to breasts. Broil 3 to 4 minutes, or until lightly browned. Turn chicken, and spoon remaining marinade over. Broil on smooth side another 3 to 4 minutes, or until lightly browned. Garnish, add remaining lime juice over chicken and serve, spooning the cooked marinade over the meat and, if you’re serving it, over rice.
  • 3. If grilling, cut marinade by half. Cook 3 to 4 minutes a side, until chicken browns and is cooked through, at times brushing with marinade. Garnish, add lime, serve.
Leave a Reply

