Quinoa with Sauteed Mushrooms

Last week I received a signed copy of Heidi Swanson’s Super Natural Cooking–I was so excited. I love her blog and was excited to read her approach to eating and try some recipes not on the web.

I picked this week’s recipe because I was intrigued by the notion of mixing quinoa with cheese. I’m also a huge fan of cooking with wine–I find it lends a really lovely flavor to vegetables.

I liked the recipe… I want to play around with the cheese I use… It would also be good with goat cheese or french feta, I think. Do note that it makes A LOT of quinoa–a lot. Unless you’re cooking for a ton of people and this is your only source of food for that meal, I would make 1 cup of (dry) quinoa… 1 1/2 cups tops.

Quinoa and Crescenza with Sauteed Mushroom
Heidi Swanson

6 tbsp clarified butter or olive oil [I used half of each]
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 onion, chopped
2 cups quinoa, rinsed
1 cup good quality dry white wine [I used pinot grigio]
2 cups water
2 big pinches of red pepper flakes
1 lb mushrooms, slice
3-4 oz Crescenza cheese*

* If you can’t find this tangy cheese, try substituting taleggio, gruyere, or brie. I used taleggio.

Heat 2 tablespoons of butter/oil in a large saucepan over medium-high heat, then add the onion and garlic and saute for 5 minutes, or until the onion starts to soften and get translucent. Add the quinoa, wine, and 1 tsp salt, until the liquid has reduced a bit.

Add the water, return to a boil, then lower the heat, cover, and simmer for about 25 minutes, or until the quinoa opens up, revealing a little spiral, and is soft and pleasant to chew.

Meanwhile, melt the remaining 3 tablespoons butter/oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat, along with the red pepper flakes and a few pinches of salt. Stir in the mushrooms and cook without stirring for a few minutes, until they’ve begun to brown and release their juices. Then shake the skillet every few minutes until the mushrooms are evenly browned, about 4 more minutes. [I added in a glug of the white wine towards the inn to deglaze the pan]. Remove from the heat and season with salt and pepper to taste.

Once the quinoa is perfectly tender yet textured, drain off any excess liquid and stir in the cheese. Ladle into big bowls and top with the mushrooms.

Serves 4-6.

One thought on “Quinoa with Sauteed Mushrooms

Leave a Reply

