Zucchini Chocolate Chip Cookies

I’m currently obsessed with Barbara Kingsolver’s Animal, Vegetable, Miracle. I got it a while ago and have been slowly plodding through. There are some great recipes included, written by Barbara’s daughter, Camille. (You can find them online here).

I decided to make her Zucchini Chocolate Chip Cookies this weekend. I’m not a big proponent of hiding vegetables in food a la Jessica Seinfeld, especially if it’s designed to trick kids to eat more vegetables. It seems to me that this method only reinforces that vegetables are icky… because otherwise why would they have to be hidden?

BUT I decided that zucchini would enhance the cookies–much like they do in zucchini bread. And I was right. The cookies are great–a nice moist texture, flavorful, and chocolate-y.

Zucchini Chocolate Chip Cookies
Camille Kingsolver

makes approx. 2 dozen

1 egg, beaten
1/2 c butter
1/2 c brown sugar
1/3 c honey [I substituted agave nectar]
1 tbsp vanilla extract
1 c white flour
1 c whole wheat flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg [I didn’t have any, so put in extra cinnamon
1 c finely shredded zucchini
12 oz chocolate chips

Combine flour, baking soda, spices, and salt in a bowl. In another bowl, combine the egg, butter, sugar, honey, and vanilla. Combine the dry ingredients with the mixture. Stir in zucchini and chocolate chips. Drop by spoonful onto a greased baking sheet, and flatten with the back of a spoon. Bake at 350 degrees for 10-15 minutes. [I baked them 10 minutes].

Leave a Reply

