French Lentils with Greens

One of my best friends, Veronica, made some lentils for me once. Lentils have never been the same since. She discovered that balsamic vinegar was the perfect complement to these legumes… which I had never imagined.

Since then, I have tried many versions of this recipe and come up with one of my own. This is a great recipe because you can keep it for a few days and–even better–it actually tastes even more divine the next day. I usually serve it with either quinoa or brown rice–but you could also serve in as a warm salad on a bed of lettuce or as a side dish.

Lentils are full of protein, fiber, and iron.

French Lentils with Greens

1 c green lentils (also know as French or de Puy lentils), rinsed
2 c vegetable of chicken broth*
2 c water
1 tbsp olive oil
1/4 red onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
4 stalks celery, sliced
1 bunch greens (collards, kale, spinach, chard…etc), rinsed, de-stalked, and chopped into small pieces
1-2 sprigs rosemary, chopped
dash of balsamic vinegar
crumbled goat cheese (optionals)

Heat oil in large saucepot. Saute onions, until soft, and then add garlic. Saute for 1-2 minutes. Add water and broth and bring to a boil. Add lentils, celery, rosemary and greens. Stir. Simmer for 15-20 minutes, until lentils are soft and water has been absorbed. Turn off heat and cool for a few minutes. Stir in a few dashes of balsamic vinegar, salt, pepper to taste. If desired, top with a few pinches of goat cheese. Enjoy!

*I usually use vegetable broth to cook with; my boyfriend, an actual chef, insists on using chicken broth, as the fat and gelatin from the broth cook down to make a nice sauce. I generally don’t go out of my way to add meat products to my diet unnecessarily–so I go with the vegetable stock. But to each his own! Try it with both and see which you like better.

One thought on “French Lentils with Greens

  1. kerstin says:

    I LOVE lentils – and you’re right – balsamic vinegar is amazing with them – I’m going to try this recipe. Rice wine vinegar also works nicely with the lentils – I often make a simple salad with bulgar wheat, lentils, rice wine vinegar, and some tuna on top (which drives my cats nuts). Great site!

Leave a Reply

