Warming Quinoa Porridge

I had some leftover red quinoa in the fridge and decided to try an idea I’ve had for a while.  It was inspired by Chef MD’s Big Book of Culinary Medicine, which I received a few months ago, as well as Heidi Swanson’s adaptation of the original recipe.   However, I haven’t been keen on trying it until now… because it’s freezing outside.  I woke up this morning, my teeth chattering, and decided this was definitely a morning for a heart, warming breakfast.

This is similar to my Hearty Morning Porridge made with steel cut oats… except I prefer the quinoa version, I think. It’s a bit lighter, but just as filling and protein-packed. I am also going to try it again by making the dry quinoa with part water, part almond milk and see how that turns out.

Warming Quinoa Porridge
(serves one)

1/2 c cooked quinoa (I used red, as I like its texture more, but you could also use white)
1/4 c plus 2 tbsp unsweetened, vanilla almond milk
2 tbsp ground flax seed
1 tsp agave nectar (could also use maple syrup or honey)
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
handful chopped almonds

Bring almond milk to a simmer.  Add quinoa and let it cook down, until most of the almond milk has been absorbed, 3-4 mins. Add agave and vanilla and stir.  Turn off heat, add flax seed and almonds. Pour 2 tbsp almond milk on top, and stir.  Enjoy!

One thought on “Warming Quinoa Porridge

Leave a Reply

