Angelica Cornbread

One of my favorite restaurants in New York City is Angelica Kitchen in the East Village. I ate there last night and, as always, ordered their special cornbread, which is wheat-free and deeeelish. It’s super moist and dense… and not necessarily what you would expect a cornbread to be.

I received a copy of their cookbook, The Angelica Home Kitchen, for Christmas and decided to try out the cornbread. I was surprised that it was made primarily from brown rice, oats, corn, and apple juice… I never would have guessed!

This is perfect for the winter, as it’s hearty and dense. It’s the perfect accompaniment to a soup or even toasted in the morning for breakfast. It’s packed with fiber, which will leave you satisfied for hours

ANGELICA CORNBREAD
The Angelica Home Kitchen
Makes 6 to 8 generous pieces, or 1 small loaf.

Ingredients
3 c cooked brown rice
1 1/3 cup rolled oats
1 1/3 cup cornmeal
1/2 tablespoon sea salt
3 cups apple cider or apple juice [Note: I used 100% apple juice]
1/4 cup unrefined corn oil plus more for brushing the pan [note: I used extra virgin olive oil]
2 tablespoons sesame seeds

Preparation
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

In a large mixing bowl, combine the cooked rice, rolled oats, cornmeal, apple cider (or juice), sea salt, and corn oil. Mix well using a wooden spoon or whisk.

Lightly oil a 9x5x3-inch loaf pan and sprinkle with sesame seeds. This prevents the bread from sticking to the pan and adds a delicious toasty sesame flavor.
Fill the pan with batter, smoothing the top with a spatula.

Bake on the middle rack of the oven for 1 hour and 15 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Allow to cool before serving.

4 thoughts on “Angelica Cornbread

  1. clover56 says:

    I’m still waiting to see how it turns out.., but i made pancakes with the leftover batter. Added some more cornflour and an egg. Those came out great!

    Thanks!

  2. gina says:

    I just wanted to say thank you so much for sharing not only do my husband and I visit Angelicas only for this item but also you are going to make my sister extremely happy for the holidays when I make this as an app

    Again very generous of you!!

    I hate to ask but do they put any dips and spreads in the book?

  3. zara cybele says:

    I’ve loved their cornbread for years and was looking for this recipe. Thank you!
    I bet it would really rock if coconut oil is used.
    Personally, I’d substitute the corn oil, since a good deal of corn is now grown using genetically modified seed.

Leave a Reply

