Roasted Parsnips

parsnips

My mission this weekend was to try cooking two vegetables that I eat frequently but have never made myself: parsnips and beets. Parsnips are sweet root vegetables, similar to a very large, pale carrot. I debated between making roasted or mashed parsnips, and settled on the former because roasting generally brings out the sweetness in root vegetables. This is great for people who have sweet cravings — often, I recommend to clients who have crazy cravings that they introduce sweet vegetables into their diet routinely. Magically, their sugar cravings disappear!

ROASTED PARSNIPS
serves 2-3

2 parsnips, washed well
1/4 c olive oil
salt and pepper
cayenne pepper
garlic powder

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Chop parsnips into bite sized chunks. Toss with olive oil, salt, pepper, and spices in a shallow baking pan. Cook for 15 minutes and shake pan vigourously (one side of each chunk should be golden brown). Cook another 15 minutes, then remove.

3 thoughts on “Roasted Parsnips

  1. Lisa says:

    I love roasting a big bunch of parsnips, carrots, turnips, onions, sweet potatoes – really any root vegetable – and then pureeing them into soup. I had parsnips for the first time last winter and I’m a fan for life.

  2. Melissa says:

    Great tip. I read somewhere that instead of sweets having a snack of steamed vegetables drizzled with maple syrup is a good fix. I love roasted root vegetables, so I will definitely be trying this recipe.

Leave a Reply

