Indian night! and GIVEAWAY

After a long day of counseling, I wanted to make myself a special treat. I hadn’t had time for lunch, so by 6pm, I was famished!

Luckily, a few weeks ago the nice folks at Waverley Kitchens sent me three items from their new product line to try out.  They have a simple yet brilliant concept:  they sell individualized packets of Indian spices that you can use to quickly throw together a flavorful South Asian meal.  This is perfect for me because, while I love Indian food, I never have all of the spices… and when I decide to buy them, I’ll use a pinch here and a pinch there and most of it eventually spoils.

indian1

Each packet comes with the spices, a shopping list of ingredients, and an easy-to-follow recipe.  They sent me Chola Curry (onions, garlic, and chickpeas), Potato and Pea Sabji, and spinach raita.  I had all but one of the ingredients (tomato paste) on hand, so decided to try it.

indian2

It was super simple to make — the whole meal was ready in 30 minutes.  I decided to throw in some crispy tempeh for extra protein, which went really well with the chickpeas. I also served it with leftover short grain brown rice.

indian3

indian4

I would definitely recommend this product, especially for those nights when you’re getting home late and don’t have time to prepare a huge meal.  Everything was very flavorful and just spicy enough. The one thing I wasn’t a huge fan of was the raita, because I found it a bit sweet. But the sabji and the chickpeas were amazing!

So now… I am pleased to offer one lucky reader the chance to win packets for three different dishes!  All you have to do is leave a comment and tell me your absolute favorite South Asian dish.  I’ll announce the winner on Thursday, June 18.  Good luck!!

6 thoughts on “Indian night! and GIVEAWAY

  1. Pete Tennyson says:

    That sounds perfect for me. Normally, I just dump grocery store curry powder onto something I already know how to make and the whole thing just winds up being disgusting.

    As for a favorite, I could eat vegetable samosas all day long.

    Pete T.

Leave a Reply

