Chicken with Zucchini and Feta

chicken

Growing up, I really hated zucchini and summer squash.  When I hit 20, I decided I loooved zucchini and now can’t get enough of it. (My distaste for squash continues to this day, however). Along with corn and tomatoes, it’s my favorite vegetables in the summer.

I was loading zucchini into my FreshDirect cart last week and a recipe popped up for Chicken with Zucchini and Feta.  I didn’t know FreshDirect had recipes, but now that I know… I’m hooked! It was quite easy: I just clicked off from a list of ingredients what I needed and it was all put into my virtual cart.  The day my groceries were delivered, they e-mailed the recipe to me! Brilliant.

I was impressed by the dish itself. It’s very light and summery, yet still manages to be hearty. I love the addition of lemon peel to the dish–it adds new level of flavor. I served it with corn risotto and a sliced tomato.

CHICKEN WITH ZUCCHINI AND FETA
Real Simple via Fresh Direct

2 tablespoons olive oil
1 lemon
4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
2 medium zucchini
1/4 cup fresh flat-leaf parsley leaves, chopped
salt and pepper to taste
1/3 cup crumbled Feta
Heat oven to 400°F. Drizzle 1/2 tablespoon of the oil in a roasting pan. Remove the zest from the lemon in thin strips; set aside. Thinly slice the lemon. Place half the slices in the pan. Rinse the chicken and pat it dry with paper towels. Place it on top of the lemon slices and season with 1/8 teaspoon of the salt. Slice each zucchini in half lengthwise, then slice each half into 1/4-inch-thick half-moons. In a bowl, combine the zucchini, parsley, pepper, and the remaining oil, lemon slices, and salt; toss. Spread the zucchini mixture around the chicken and sprinkle the Feta over the top. Roast until the chicken is cooked through, 20 to 25 minutes. Transfer it to a cutting board and cut each piece into thirds. Divide the chicken, zucchini mixture, and lemons among individual plates and sprinkle with the zest.
Leave a Reply

