Day 12: Just Say No!

no

This is part of a series of blog posts called “14 Days to a Healthier You”

Many of my clients are women and I’ve noticed a common thread that runs among them all, no matter their age:  they have trouble saying no.  When they’re not at work (trying to please the powers that be), they’re running around trying to take care of their children, their partners, their friends…
No wonder they come to me exhausted!
It’s time we (men and women, but especially the latter) learned to say NO! more often.  These days it’s so normal to be overbooked and overworked, that we’ve forgotten to take care of ourselves.
What’s your favorite thing to do for yourself?
Some of mine include:
  • Waking up 30 minutes early (and I’m not a morning person) to read quietly in bed before the hustle and bustle of the day
  • Making time to watch no brainer TV shows like Gossip Girl and Grey’s Anatomy
  • Walking to work while listening to my favorite podcasts
  • Playing music while I take a shower
  • Enjoying a mani/pedi on a regular basis
Yes, these are all small things — but I actively make time for them and, thus, for myself. So all these little things add up to some big things: I’m more relaxed and feel like I have adequate space in my life. Of course, none of this would be possible if I said YES to every invitation or request that came my way — on the contrary, I’ve gotten very good at saying no when I know I need downtime.
RECOMMENDATION: Over the next two weeks, say no to two other activities/errands/chores and use that time for yourself. What you do with that time is up to you, so make it count!
Leave a Reply

