Fall Favorites

fall

 

You guys, it’s finally fall! I’ve been crazy busy for the past two months, so it seems like only yesterday that it was hot and humid out! My diet is still in the summer too, so I’ve been doing a fall revamp so the foods I eat align with the colder weather (so not craving salads anymore!). I’m starting with breakfast — on a cold winter day, I definitely want something hearty to keep me going!

Below are two new additions to my cold weather line up:

  • Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free Mighty Tasty Hot Cereal – I love oatmeal, but it aggravates my gluten sensitivity and, honestly, I find it to be very heavy. Enter Mighty Tasty Hot Cereal! It’s filling but doesn’t weigh me down in the morning and it’s full of whole grains (specifically, brown rice, corn, buckwheat, and sorghum). The texture is sort of like cream of wheat, but a bit thicker. I make mine with some flaxseed, agave nectar and–on those days I know lunch may be postponed for a while–a dollop of peanut butter.
  • Purely Elizabeth Pancake Mix — I needed to slow down, so last weekend I decided to take Saturday and Sunday off.  After leisurely laying in bed for most of the morning, the only thing that got me up was the prospect of trying this whole grain (and gluten-free) pancake mix that Elizabeth kindly sent me back in September. They were so good! They reminded me of buckwheat pancakes that I’ve had in the Midwest–a little thinner than traditional pancakes with a pleasant, nutty taste. I had them with organic, local butter and agave nectar. The perfect way to treat myself on a cold winter morning.

…and, even though I’ve been busy, I’ve still been cooking! I’ve recently made Cashew Chicken (substituted agave for honey and added broccoli and snow peas) and my all-time favorite Lively Up Yourself Lentil Soup. Both were excellent and perfect for lunchtime leftovers. I froze a few portions of the soup for those winter days ahead…

Leave a Reply

