Creamy coconut corn with lime


I love corn! Along with perfectly ripened tomatoes, it’s my favorite summer vegetable.  Most of the year, you might never know I grew up in the South, but the minute it gets warm I bust out the corn, tomatoes, lima beans, zucchini… I could live on them.

For the past month, I’ve been making my go-to recipe for corn risotto.  But after a few weeks of creamy deliciousness, I decided to see if I could one-up myself and create something even better. Which I did.

Enter:  Creamy coconut corn with lime.  A fool-proof, decadent dish that’s still light enough to eat on a hot summer day.

I started off by bringing coconut milk, vegetable broth, a bit of agave nectar, and lime zest to a boil.


While that heated up, I cut corn off the cob. I used to do this all willy-nilly and corn ended up all over my kitchen. I eventually figured out that the best way is to lay the cob horizontally on the cutting board and cut it off with a chef’s knife. The kernels tend to stay together, so it’s less messy.

Then I threw in the corn and let it cook down for a bit.  Fifteen minutes later I had myself a creamy, tangy corn dish that was just begging to be eaten.

 

CREAMY COCONUT CORN WITH LIME

1 can of coconut milk (can also use “lite” coconut milk)
1/4 c vegetable or chicken broth
1 tsp agave nectar
zest of one lime
5 ears of corn, kernels cut off the cob
juice of one lime
salt to taste

Combine first four ingredients in a large saucepan and bring to a boil. Add corn and simmer for 10 minutes, covered. Remove cover and continue to simmer until most of the liquid has been absorbed, about 5 minutes. Salt to taste and stir in lime juice.

This would also be delicious with chopped cilantro on top!

 

One thought on “Creamy coconut corn with lime

Leave a Reply

