Savory Tart with Leeks, Goat Cheese and Crispy Proscuitto

31 Jan

Tarte!
I got my oven and I conquered my first (almost) from scratch recipe!  Last weekend, I went to one of my favorite restaurants in our neighborhood–aptly named Le Cafe–and had a tarte salee, which is sort of like a quiche, but lighter. 

Empowered by my new oven, I decided to try to re-create the tarte.  It was super simple and didn’t take long at all — the filling nothing but leeks, eggs, milk, cream, and mustard. 

Here’s the tart before I poured the egg and cream mixture on top:  

Before cooking...

You may be wondering how I made the delicious-looking, lightly browned crust you see. Well, I’ll admit it, I didn’t.  I’m still building up my kitchen so don’t have a rolling pin (or flour, for that matter), so I bought some pate brisee dough from our local market. Next time, though, I’m going to try this recipe for an olive oil tart crust.

Lastly, I sliced a piece of crottin cheese to put on top of the uncooked tart.  Crottin is a goat cheese, but it is tangier and a bit more firm than the typical goat cheeses you find in the U.S. 

Crottin

 

Image

Lastly, while this was baking I took about 1/2 piece of proscuitto, cut it in little pieces and crisped it up in a skillet. This went on top of the cooked tart.

The final result was glorious. It was hearty but not too heavy. A nice texture, with rich flavors. Perfect served alongside a big green salad.  It is easily re-heated and it just as wonderful (maybe even better?) the next day.

 

SAVORY TART WITH LEEKS, GOAT CHEESE AND CRISPY PROSCUITTO
Serves 4 

1 recipe pate brisee
1 leek, cleaned well and sliced thinly
3 eggs
2 oz goat cheese (go for a tangier cheese, like a crottin; you could also do manchego, grated)
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup cream
1 teaspoon dijon mustard
1/4 tsp garlic powder
salt and pepper 
1/2 piece proscuitto, diced

Pre-heat oven to 425.  Roll out pate brisee and line pie plate with it. Poke a few holes in the dough with a fork and cook for 10-15 minutes, until lightly browned. Remove from oven.

In the meantime, mix the eggs, milk, cream, mustard, salt and garlic in a bowl.  Layer the leeks on the crust and pour the eggs mixture over it.

Slice the cheese (or, if a softer goat cheese, crumble) and  lay on top. Sprinkle pepper on the top and bake for 35-40 minutes at 400.

While the tart bakes, put the proscuitto in a (dry) skillet and saute over medium for approx 5 minutes, until crispy. Remove from heat.

Remove the tart and let rest for 10 minutes before serving. Sprinkle the proscuitto on top and serve. Bon Appetit!

One Response to “Savory Tart with Leeks, Goat Cheese and Crispy Proscuitto”

  1. filingawaycupcakes February 11, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

    This sounds like heaven!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

