Healthy Hazelnut Truffles

truffles1-4

I’ll go ahead and admit that, for me, a meal doesn’t feel complete unless it concludes with something sweet.   It doesn’t have to be a rich, decadent dessert (though I also love those!); most of the time something small will do.

Lately my husband and I have been gobbling up homemade hazelnut truffles, which I created in a quest to wean him from his Nutella-on-a-spoon habit.  They’re the perfect balance between rich but not heavy; sweet but not sugary. They taste very much like my husband’s beloved Nutella, only better.  They’re simple and quick to make–all you need is a few ingredients and a food processor.

HEALTHY HAZELNUT TRUFFLES
Makes approx. a dozen

1 cup pitted dates (the softer the better)
1/2 cup hazelnuts
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tbsp cocoa powder (or raw cacao powder if you want to be fancy)
1/4 tsp salt

Put all ingredients in a food processor and pulse til smooth and sticky.  Roll into balls and enjoy at room temperature.  Can be stored in an airtight container for 2-3 days… if they last that long, which in my household they don’t!

Leave a Reply

