What’s for Dinner?: Week of June 8, 2015

What’s for Dinner is a series dedicated to what real-life families eat.  Each week, a parent shares his or her menus for the week and talks about the food philosophy behind it.

I’ve gotten several requests for menus from French parents. So, here it is!  This week we hear from Lise, a talented cook and crafter who lives in Lyon with her husband and 18-month-old daughter.  The family recently moved back from northern California, where she taught cooking courses.  Check out her trove of recipes here!

Lise’s Family Food Philosophy:  We apply the famous French saying, “eat breakfast like a king, lunch like a prince and dinner like a pauper” (except that I don’t eat breakfast (!). Our dinners are usually lighter:  either I base them on carbohydrates (pasta, rice, etc.) and don’t include meat, or I serve meat with no carbohydrates. Along with the main course, we usually have cheese and a dessert (yogurt and/or fruits).

What inspired this week’s menu?  I don’t do weekly dinner menus! I go to my local market twice a week where I buy seasonal and, as much as possible, local veggies & fruits, as well as cheese, meat and fish. Back home I get inspired by what I bought from the market, but most of the time I don’t have any idea of what’s for dinner until an hour before… dinner!

So what’s on the menu?

Monday: White fish en papillote with ratatouille
Tuesday: Croque-Monsieur and green salad
Wednesday: Big mixed salad (lettuce, feta cheese, corn, grilled chicken, tomatoes, herbs)
Thursday: Lentils and lardons salad
Friday: Asparagus risotto and green salad
Bon appetit!
Leave a Reply

