What’s for Dinner? Week of July 20, 2015

What’s for Dinner is a series dedicated to what real-life families eat.  Each week, a parent shares his or her menus for the week and talks about the food philosophy behind it.  Want to read more?  Check out our WFD archives.

This week, Elodie shares her family menu for the week.  She’s from all over:  born in Hong Kong, grew up in France, worked in the US and now lives in Lyon with her partner and 17-month old.  

Elodie’s Family Food Philosophy: I’m following my mother’s footsteps here:  “I don’t particularly like to cook, but I like to eat good food”. When I’m at home cooking, I always remember when I was 10-12 years old coming home late from riding classes and, as soon as I’d open the front door, I’d smell the flavors of my mom’s cooking, and very often there was either the smell of rice or olive oil & garlic smell! I’d like my children to have those memories. And I do enjoy it when I hear Gerald, my husband, say “mmmm… it smells good!” when he comes home in the evening!

What inspired this week’s menu?   It is so difficult to choose the menus for the week as there is so much variety of yummy food out there! I mostly like to cook French, Asian, Indian, American, Middle eastern, and Italian food. My husband, Gerald, likes to go on Sunday to the “marché” with our 17-month-old son. He usually gets any fruit & vegetable that the local farmers are selling depending on the season. You can recognize the local farmers: they still have earth under their nails! Then Gerald will get some red meat, some fish, some poultry and of course some cheese because his family ALWAYS has cheese at the end of their meals, always. for some reason this week’s dishes are quite “French”, but ask me again another week and there might be an Indian curry or an Asian stir fry…

So what’s for dinner?

Sunday: Chicken Provencal with rice – so easy to make, and always a success

Monday: Quiche and a simple green salad – again easy and fast to make, plus there are leftovers that Gérald can take for his lunch the next day

Tuesday: Saucisson Lyonnais – this is Gerald’s signature dish

Wednesday: Vegetable Soup – couple potatoes, leek, couple carrots, vegetable stock

Thursday: Salmon cooked in butter with puree

Friday: Gnocchi with Bacon and Cream and a lot of pepper

Leave a Reply

