What’s for Dinner: Week of October 5, 2015

What’s for Dinner is a series dedicated to what real-life families eat.  Each week, a parent shares his or her menus for the week and talks about the food philosophy behind it.  Want to read more? Check out our WFD archives.

This week we hear from Nubia, a Colombian mom living in France with her husband and infant.

Nubia’s Family Food Philosophy: 

I want to start describing my family, I am from Colombia and my husband from Germany, and we have a little baby Isabella who is four months old. As you can imagine we have a lot differences in our eating habits, but of course if we are from two totally different cultures, my husband likes to eat pasta, cheese, pizza, burger, potatoes, candies, chocolates, and sausage with beer, as a good German; he loves animal proteins as well. In my case I like to eat fresh with mostly whole fruits and lots of veggies, in Colombia we don’t have seasons so I am used to eat all kind of fruits and veggies and fresh fruits juice all the year. At the beginning it was a big change of habits for both of us, a little bit more for him that for me.
But day by day, we found our own way and today we really enjoyed our dinner together with our daughter (of course she through my milk). Now my husband is responsible for the shopping, because he has the car, I just have to prepare a list with all the products that I want:  lots of veggies, fruits, salad, cereals and some animal proteins, and my husband still buying beer, candies, chocolates, but really rarely he eats fast food. Everything that we do now is food supplement, for example vegetables salad with one animal protein (meat or cheese or fish) and once a week he takes a beer, on the weekends as dessert, ice cream or chocolate. But every morning fresh orange juice plus fruits.
What inspired this week’s menu?
It has been a hectic summer plus we have recently had a heat wave, something that I am not used to, which meant that I do not feel like spending a lot time in the kitchen, however it is me who every night cooks, (ok, sometimes my husband as well) but I try not to be more that 45min in the kitchen.
 In general I try to ensure the weekly meals include the following:– 1 green salad
– 1 animal protein (fish, meat, chicken, cheese)
– 1 vegetables
– 1 sometimes rice, pasta or potatoesSo what’s for dinner?

Monday: after the weekend where we eat lots of bad things, I will prepare a big green salad, baby tomatoes, lettuce, feta cheese, olives, eggs with olive oil and bread.

Tuesday: rice (Colombia style with vegetables and chicken) plus small green salad, lettuce, and baby tomatoes

Wednesday:  Baked salmon with vegetables (eggplant, carrot, mushrooms, tomatoes, pumpkin and small pieces of potatoes)
Thursday:  chicken in tomatoe sauce  (Colombia style again) plus green salad with Mexican tortillas
Friday: Pasta with parmesan cheese, and pesto (original recipe from my mom) plus green salad and beer for my husband

Saturday and Sunday, 
a big German brunch because my husband is responsible for the kitchen.
Leave a Reply

